Reviving a cross stitched picture, mat and frame

I found this beautifully cross stitched picture at the Goodwill. The mat was a very faded navy blue which did nothing for the picture stitched on black cloth. Sorry, but I didn’t think about photographing it until I had the first couple of coats of paint on the mat. I used acrylic paints on the mat in a Christmas red to bring out the red in the needlework. I put a couple coats  to cover the navy blue, then I used a small piece of cheese cloth to rub it down a couple times with some gold metallic acrylic also covering the white cut edge with the gold paint. The mat was glued to the picture so I had to tuck some paper between the mat and the cloth when I was doing the gold. This white frame was just what it needed to really make the picture pop. If you click on the picture, it will enlarge and you can see a closer view.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment